General Information

CREOLE | “Cultural Differences and Transnational Processes”


A Joint-Master Programme in Social and Cultural Anthropology at 8 European Universities

CREOLE (the acronym of the study programme) is the first Joint-Master Degree in Social and Cultural Anthropology with an European dimension. It was developed in the framework of the EU-ERASMUS programme (2005 - 2008) by the departments of Anthropology of the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, the National University of Ireland-Maynooth, and the departments of anthropology of the universities of Ljubljana, Stockholm and Vienna and was coordinated by Thomas Fillitz (Vienna). CREOLE is a research master programme designed for students wishing to specialise in topical areas of anthropology such as transnationalism, new identities, material culture and visual culture.

The Joint-MA CREOLE has been running since the winter term 2007/2008, and encompasses the following partner universities:

  • Universität Wien | Department of Social and Cultural Anthropology; (Coordinator)
  • Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona | Department of Social and Cultural Anthropology;
  • Universität Bern | Department of Social Anthropology;
  • Université Lumière Lyon-2 | Department of Social Anthropology;
  • National University of Ireland-Maynooth | Department of Anthropology;
  • Univerza v Ljubljani | Department of Ethnology and Cultural Anthropology;
  • Stockholms universitet | Department of Social Anthropology;
  • Uniwersytet im. Adama Mickiewicza | Department of Ethnology and Cultural Anthropology
The three major topics of the programme are transnational processes, cultural difference, and new forms of identity. These are dealt with in three broad modules:

(a) New Identities,

(b) Material Culture and Consumption,

(c) Visual Culture and Popular Culture.

The Joint-MA CREOLE spreads over four semesters/two years with a common curriculum. It consists of 7 modules shared by all partner universities and amounts to a total of 120 ECTS.
[European Credit Transfer System. 1 ECTS = workload of 25h for the student, ie. teaching hours in classes, readings, and preparation of exam].
The 7 modules are:
  • 1+2) General Anthropology | 15 ects each
  • 3+4) Two modules to be selected by the student out of the 3 CREOLE thematic modules (New Identities; Material Culture and Consumption; Visual Culture and Popular Culture) | 15 ects each
  • 5) Erasmus Mobility module (common summer school called Intensive Programme, and two courses of visiting teachers) | 15 ects
  • 6) Empirical research for MA-thesis | 15 ects
  • 7) Writing and defense of thesis | 30 ects
The curriculum as a framework for the participating universities:
  • Each module has the same amount of total credits (15 ECTS) at each partner university;
  • Within the modules, the courses differ according to the teaching and research specialisations of the partner universities;
  • The credits (ECTS) for each individual course are allocated in conformity to national legislation and regulations of each university, and therefore vary according to each institution.
CREOLE encourages student mobility within Europe by allowing students to spend two semesters in one partner institution, thus offering institutional academic and career opportunities across several countries in a minimum of two languages.
In the Intensive Programme between semesters 2 and 3 (i.e. after the first year) all students from the partner universities and faculty come together for learning, teaching and networking (see Intensive Programme).
Each department offers unique study opportunities in terms of academic specialisation, university culture, regional and national culture. Students should make use of this diversity for their research which is preferably empirical. This empirical research should be carried out in one of the cities or regions of the consortium.
Supervision of a student's thesis is assured by a teacher from the home department, and during the stay at a partner institution, a teacher of the host department acts as advisor.
The programme also encourages teacher mobility via the ERASMUS teacher exchange, leading to closer cooperation in teaching anthropology and researching on topical issues in the partner institutions. Usually, two teachers from a partner institution teach every academic year for a few days in a partner institution on a reciprocal level (e.g.: 1 teacher from Barcelona goes to Stockholm, 1 teacher of Stockholm goes to Barcelona, and so forth). Teacher exchange is regulated by the steering committee every year.

Students attending this programme receive in conformity to national legislations:

a)   the official, national MA-diploma of their home institution;

b)   a joint MA-diploma of all Universities of the consortium. This is a supplement to the official, national diploma.

According to all the participating institutions, the programme significantly extends existing cooperation in the areas of both student and teacher mobility. It constitutes a commitment for a long-lasting cooperation and thus intensifies and improves transnational education in the field of social and cultural anthropology. New partners are still welcome to the consortium.

Find out more about the partner universities (for your convenience, all links are to the English version of the homepage):

Universität Wien (coordinating institution)
Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Universität Bern
Univerza v Ljubljani
Université Lumière Lyon 2
National University of Ireland – Maynooth
Stockholms Universitet


Find out more about CREOLE at the partner departments (for your convenience, all links are to the English version of the homepage as far as they exist):

Department of Social and Cultural Anthropology, Universität Wien
CREOLE at the Universität Wien

Department of Social and Cultural Anthropology, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
CREOLE at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Department of Social Anthropology, Universität Bern
CREOLE at Universität Bern
Department of Ethnology and Cultural Anthropology, Univerza v Ljubljani
CREOLE at Univerza v Ljubljani
Department of Anthropology, Université Lumière Lyon II (only in French)
CREOLE at the Université Lumière Lyon II (only in French)
Department of Anthropology, National University of Ireland – Maynooth
CREOLE at the National University of Ireland – Maynooth
Department of Social Anthropology, Stockholms Universitet
CREOLE at Stockholm Universitet

 (last updated 10|2017)